Fundamental Physical Processes in Solar-Terrestrial Research and Their Relevance to Planetary Physics 2018

Kona, Hawaii, 7-13 January 2018

Conveners: Hui Zhang (University of Alaska Fairbanks), Tony Lui (APL), and Q.-G. Zong (Peking University)

Scientific Program Committee: David Sibeck, Guan Le, Philippe Escoubet, Hiroshi Hasegawa, Dong-Hun Lee 

The main theme of this conference is to focus on understanding the variability of space plasma phenomena, encompassing those related to the Sun and all planets within our solar system.

Variability of space plasma environment is the norm rather than the exception. The cause of this variability is still under active research. In the interplanetary medium, plasma parameters change continually, permeated by plasma waves, shocks, turbulence, co-rotating interaction regions, and coronal mass ejections that agitate the environment. Such disturbances in the solar wind can lead to geomagnetic storms, which do not seem to produce relativistic electrons in the radiation belt according to their intensity. The ionosphere has variability that impacts severely radio communications. Its outflows during geomagnetic active periods can modify dramatically the magnetospheric population and physical processes within.

In other planets, plasma sources from their moons play a similar role in influencing magnetospheric environment and processes much like that of the Earth's ionospheric plasma source. Information exchange on magnetospheric research between Earth and other planets can provide valuable insights into universal processes occurring throughout our solar system. Understanding and predicting the variability of space plasma phenomena requires knowledge of not only individual physical processes or magnetospheric phenomena but also the interplay between them in a system-wide approach.


Important links and deadlines (scroll down or click on the links below for further details)


Travel to and in Kona

Kona International Airport (KOA) is serviced by Alaska Airlines, United Airlines, Delta Airlines, American Airlines, Air Canada and other airlines.

KOA is accessible by car, taxi and shuttle. The airport is located seven miles from Kailua.

Taxis are available at the airport. Rates from the airport: ~$25.

The Hawaii County Mass Transit Agency Hele-On bus operates a very limited service between the airport and Kailua-Kona town. For schedules and more information call (808) 961-6744 or on the web visit


Abstracts, submit by October 31, 2017

Abstract submission is closed.
Download the abstract book

If you have any questions about the abstract submission process, contact Hui Zhang (hzhang14 at or +1-907-474-5994).


Venue and Accommodation (book by December 8, 2017)

The venue for the conference will be the COURTYARD KING KAMEHAMEHA'S KONA BEACH HOTEL in Kona: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740, USA.

The accommodation details are as follows.


Registration (deadline October 31, 2017)

Registration Fee: $450 before October 31; $550 after October 31, 2017 (includes icebreaker on Sunday, coffee breaks, lunches Monday-Friday, conference banquet on Wednesday, excursion to Volcano Park on Wednesday)

Please register and/or purchase guest tickets at the following link:

If you have any questions about the registration process, contact the UAF GI event coordinator (uaf-gi-events at or +1-907-474-7664).


Travel Support

Partial support is available for eligible young scientists, distinguished scientists from less developed countries. 

Eligibility: Young scientists and distinguished scientists from less developed countries who will give a talk are eligible for support. Evaluation of applicants will be based on the anticipated contribution to the goals of the meeting.

Application deadline: October 31, 2017

Application: To receive support,

  1. Submit an abstract as a presenting author
  2. Fill a travel support application form ( NO LATER THAN October 31, 2017
  3. Attend and present the paper at the conference

If you have any questions about the form or application process, contact Hui Zhang (hzhang14 at

Support amount and coverage: The amount of support for each applicant will depend on the number of applicants. It is anticipated that all of the meeting registration fees will be covered. In the event of fewer than 20 people applying we will be able to cover the accommodation costs.

Payments: Registration fees and accommodation costs will be prepaid by University of Alaska Fairbanks.



Field Trip to Volcano Park (Wednesday)
Boarding 10:15am
Depart 10:30am
Arrive 1:00pm
Lunch 1-2pm (It's highly recommended to bring your lunch/snacks because the restaurant in the park can only hold 50 people and we have over 100 people and limited time for lunch. Bottled water will be provided. Food or drinks are not allowed on the bus.)
Jaggar Museum 2:10-2:40pm;
Kīlauea Overlook and Picnic Area 2:45-3:00pm;
Steam Vents 3:10-3:30pm;
Lava Tube 3:40-4:00pm
Leave Volcano Park at 4:00pm
Return to hotel at 6:30pm

Inherent Risks
Participants will be traveling to the Big Island of Hawaii, Volcano National Park to view the lava flow and tour the park. Physical demands may include walking one to two miles, standing in one spot for extended periods of time, and navigating uneven surfaces and stairs.
Travel: Participants may encounter potential risks wen traveling by tour bus. Unforeseen accidents could result in fractured bones, contusions, concussions, scrapes, puncture wounds, and potentially death.
Terrain:  Participants will encounter uneven terrain to include vegetation which may hide deep cracks, steam vents, loose rocks, and cliffs. Potential risks include muscle strains; foot, ankle, and wrist sprains; fractures, and minor cuts and bruising associated wit slips, trips and or falls.
: Dependent on location, weather during the tour may fluctuate between 57 to 79 degrees Fahrenheit. Exposure to elements including cold, wind, and sun may potentially result in wind burn, sun burn, eye irritation, dehydration, and hypothermia.
Wildlife: Participants may encounter feral mammals and mosquitoes with a potential risk for bites scratches, and infection.
Other: Dependent on the wind direction volcanic gases (VOG and sulfur) and fallout material (Pele's hair, pumice, and cinder) may cause lung and eye irritation.


Please see the program book below.


Registration and icebreaker will be on Sunday (Jan. 7). The meeting will run from Monday (Jan. 8) to noon on Saturday (Jan. 13).
Download the program book  





























Last Updated: 5 January, 2018 2:00 AM